#ELockhartInPH

March 22, 2015. The day I met the author of the award-winning and the NY Times Bestselling author of ‘We Were Liars’-Emily Lockhart, a.k.a. E. Lockhart. There are no lies to be found in this blog post πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Poster-E-Lockhart_zpsaa243fef

  • Pre-signing happenings:

The night of March 21, my family and I were staying in a hotel in Manila. This turned out to be a happy coincidence because the day after March 21 would be E. Lockhart’s scheduled booksigning on Glorietta 1. πŸ™‚ I have long since decided to come out and meet her so our stay was a very welcome event, haha. Why? Because Makati (where Glorietta is located) is a great deal nearer to our hotel than to our home in Laguna πŸ™‚

My parents were uneasy with the idea of me going out and coming home alone to and from the mall. I was adamant that I will attend the booksigning even if it’s the last thing I’d do. The compromise we made was that my little brother has to come with me, haha. Even though he was a bit grumpy because I woke him up early, he agreed so long as he gets to separate from me after the mall opens πŸ™‚ So..at about 8:30 AM, my brother and me hopped on a taxi and went our way πŸ™‚

Processed with VSCOcamThat’s our taxi, haha! Manong driver was very friendly. He even joked that he’d sign my books too! πŸ™‚ Β While we were on our way, I worried that we’d be late and that I’ll be the last person in line or something. I kept checking my bookstagram account (@reading_rexy) and asking some friends how many people there were and if they themselves were already there… As it turns out, my worry was quite unnecessary.

When we arrived at Glorietta and journeyed to the end of the line, I was surprised to see that the queue wasn’t as long as I expected. The last person in line was standing just a bit after theΒ Payless Shoe SourceΒ store!!! πŸ™‚ If you’ve been to past NBS Glorietta booksignings, you’d know that that’s actually a very near location to National Bookstore where the queue starts.

  • The Waiting Game:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

…There we went, waiting in line for our numbers. Our Power banks, SUPERSURF Subscription and Mcmuffins were ready for the almost 1 hour and 30 minutes wait until we succeed in registering πŸ™‚ I’m happy to note that many people ahead of us were reading and nobody stared at them like they were crazy. I felt like I belong, haha!

Processed with VSCOcam

Here’s the product of our waiting time. I’m No. 117 and my brother was No. 118!!!! Later he’d give up that number to my friend Marga who wasn’t able to come early πŸ™‚ He wasn’t really interested to meet E. Lockhart so he was okay with giving up his number (In fact, he didn’t even want to wait in line and get one but I forced him!!!) *wink wink*

Processed with VSCOcam

Here’s the stage for E. Lockhart’s interview! πŸ™‚ Of course, I didn’t want it to go to waste so I coerced my brother to take a photo of me in there, haha!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

There I sit looking like a boss πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

It was only a few minutes after 10 AM while I took those photos. The interview would be around 2 PM. To pass the time, I went around a bit inside the bookstore. πŸ™‚ One of the best things apart from meeting an author in booksignings is meeting friends. Say hi to my friends!!!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Here’s Ate Pam and me. πŸ™‚ Ate Pam is one of my co-admins in @bookishpinoys, the first online bookstagramming community for Filipinos on Instagram πŸ™‚ She’s a pro at booksignings! In E Lockhart in PH, she saved me a seat next to her in the front row for E. Lockhart’s interview (she was among the first to arrive for registration) πŸ™‚ Aside from that, we traded stories, both of the bookworm variety and the plain old story variety πŸ™‚ Thank you, Ate Pam!!!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Here on the other hand is a photo of me and Kevin, otherwise known as tomebound in the bookstagram and Β bookblogging community πŸ™‚ (Check out his blog here) Kevin is a tall friendly guy with crinkly eyes that spell out laughter. Incidentally, his registration number was near mine so we also had the opportunity to talk and share insights about E. Lockhart’s books πŸ™‚ We had a few laughs talking about the gherkins from Fly on the Wall. Haha! πŸ™‚

20687_10205778033985584_4912775512527538289_n

The people in this photo were also among the few I had the chance to catch up with! From right to left, there’s me, JM (Book Freak Revelations in WP), Anne, and their friend I have now forgotten the name of (sorry kuya haha) πŸ™‚ JM and Anne are members of Bookish Pinoys and I’ve had the chance to bond with them for a short time in #MarieLuInPH πŸ™‚ Since then they’ve become my Facebook, IG and real-life friends, haha! They’re super fun to be with even in such short moments:)
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetLast but not the least, here’s me and Marga, my longtime ‘little sister’ in the bookstagramming world. We follow and DM each other in Twitter and Instagram, we share bookish news and feels, we’re friends in Facebook and now in real life! It was my first time to meet her in person but it was like we’ve known each other for a long time!! ..Come to think about it technically we have been friends for a long time but that was online. Seeing each other in person might be awkward in a few cases but it wasn’t the case for us πŸ™‚ Β Marga was my all-around buddy! She got the No. 118 registration ticket which my little brother happily gave up, she sat with me during the interview, she had lunch with me and my brother, and she was with me almost the whole day πŸ™‚ Don’t tell her and my little brother anything but I’m shipping them, hahaha! πŸ™‚

Processed with VSCOcam

That’s an unflattering photo of my brother enjoying a gumball in case you were wondering, haha

  • The Interview

Processed with VSCOcam

I made a mistake once more in assuming I’d have the energy to blog about #ELockhartInPH as soon as I got home. I was wrong and now I don’t remember the full details of Sandra Ramos’ interview with E. Lockhart 😦 However, here are some things I do remember:

  1. We Were Liars was recently bought by a production company. However, they have full rights on the movie. E. Lockhart won’t have any control whatsoever on the movie version whenever it starts production.
  2. E. Lockhart is a Literature degree holder from …sorry, I forgot where 😦
  3. She picked up a dog-eared copy of aΒ Sidney SheldonΒ book for free on the streets otw to the airport for her flight here. It was her airplane reading material and she finished it before she got back to the States, haha
  4. E stands for Emily πŸ™‚
  5. She brought rubber stamps that says “Be a little kinder than you have to” and “Do not accept an evil you can change.” Both quotes are from We Were Liars and you can ask to get them stamped on your books for free:)

That’s about it, I’m sorry 😦

  • Meeting E. Lockhart

After the interview, it was time for the signing proper. Because we still had to wait for 116 people to get their books signed, Marga and me decided to have lunch at The Pizza WarehouseΒ first. My brother joined us, haha πŸ™‚ We got back with plenty of time to spare πŸ™‚

Processed with VSCOcam

Before we knew it, Numbers 100-120 were being called. Kevin and Nicole (a friend I unfortunately didn’t have a photo with) was in front of me and Marga. I introduced them to one another. We had fun sharing how excited we are in meeting E. Lockhart πŸ™‚ Before I knew it, it was my turn.

Processed with VSCOcam

This photo makes me feel that somehow, Emily had fun talking to me, haha! Here’s how our conversation went πŸ™‚

R stands for Rexy, E is for Emily

R: Thank you for coming to the Philippines!

E: It’s so nice to be here!!!

R: I made you a few little somethings because apparently I had no other thing to do, haha!

*gives her wire-keychain and a wire bookmark*

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

E:Thank you so much! They’re beautiful!!!

R *a bit awkwardly because OMG E. Lockhart is talking to me and praising me omg I’m freaking out* : You’re welcome!!! So..my friend* asked me to ask you a question regarding We Were Liars, haha

E: Yeah, Β what is it?

THIS PART CONTAINS HUGE SPOILERS FOR WE WERE LIARSΒ 

R:Well..she kinda wants to know whether Gat is just a part of Cadence’s imagination or if he was there the whole time

E: Well, what do you think?

*I was freaking out more than ever because I don’t even know what I think, haha!*

R: *awkard smiling and laughing* Well my friend is a nurse so she thinks Gat was just part a hallucination due to all the drugs Cadence had to take!

E: Oh, that’s great but personally I like to think Gat was there the whole time..I mean, I think the whole plot falls apart if he wasn’t actually there.

R: Right, right

E: But it’s good that people like to make their own interpretations and guesses. I like that.

R: Hehe I’ll tell her you said that! πŸ™‚ Bye bye!

E: Bye, thanks for coming! πŸ™‚

*The friend I’m talking about and the one who supplied my question is Elena, @thequeenreads from Bookstagram πŸ™‚ She’s also one of my co-admins at Bookish Pinoys πŸ™‚Β 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

  • Saying byebye to my fourth booksigning experience

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetYep, Rexy is short for Rexanne πŸ™‚ This quote is my favorite quote from We Were Liars!

After almost a day, I met E. Lockhart. There were less bookworms than I expected but that’s alright! I got to reunite with old friends and meet a few new ones! πŸ™‚ Β Emily was nice, she was friendly! She praised my creativity, haha! Β I enjoyed hanging out for a few minutes with her and I enjoyed hanging out for a while with my other bookworm friends too. πŸ™‚ I didn’t lie about anything in this post. I’m not lying when I say my #ELockhartInPH experience is one of the best yet! πŸ™‚

PicMonkey Collage

3 thoughts on “#ELockhartInPH

  1. Pingback: APRIL AUTHOR OF THE MONTH | Reading_Rexy

Leave a Reply

