The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

battle

TITLE: The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book 4)

AUTHOR: Rick Riordan

PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion

NO. OF PAGES: 361

GENRE: Middle Grade, Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

DATE READ: July 18 (reread)

SYNOPSIS: *from Goodreads*

REXY’S RATING:Β 5 stars

REXY’S THOUGHTS:
The Battle of the Labyrinth is probably my favorite book in the PJO series. It’s because the plot is so intricate, much like the labyrinth itself. There’s epic adventure after epic adventure inside the labyrinth plus a few plot twists, a final battle and an enigmatic ending.

In this book we see our heroes growing up- Grover has Juniper as a girlfriend, and Percabeth is in that rocky “…but does s/he love me?” adolescent stage with a single confusing kiss inserted in the plot. I love it!

In The Battle of The Labyrinth, there are three recurring characters I want to comment on because they amused me to no end- Rachel Elizabeth Dare, a mortal who can see through the mist aka a complication in the Percabeth love story is one. The others are our favorite cyclops, Percy’s half-bro Tyson and the emo kid Nico di Angelo (haha yes, I labelled him emo kid!) I like them three because they’re all unique and they add spice to what’s otherwise just the Grover, Annabeth and Percy trio.

I’ve forgotten all about the plot twist of Quintus’ character so I was pleasantly surprised at the revelation. Even though this was a reread, I didn’t remember anything about it. It bothers me that I don’t (my memory sucks, ugh) but at the same time I’m happy that I forgot all about it and that I got to experience the shock of it again, haha.

I’ve never particularly commented on this before but I will now since The Battle of The Labyrinth is the best example for this point. The PJO books make one interested to read more about Greek mythology. There are characters-Theseus, Daedalus, Briares, Icarus, Eurytion and a few more I can’t remember now, whose names would be familiar to Greek mythology experts but not so much to people who only read the Percy Jackson books.

I’m giving this book 5 stars and heading to “The Last Olympian”. I hope this won’t be the last book in the PJO series I’ll give 5 stars to πŸ˜‰

REXY’S METERS:

  • My Happiness Meter–FaceQ1414951447391Β I love how Percy’s mom now has Mr. Blofis! β™₯ Also, Percabeth’s cute. Hehe.
  • My Annoyance Meter–FaceQ1414951491150Β Β Β There are so many characters in this book! That’s both a good thing and a bad thing, haha.

PicMonkey Collage

One thought on “The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

