The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

lastoly

TITLE: The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5)

AUTHOR: Rick Riordan

PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion

NO. OF PAGES: 381

GENRE: Middle Age, Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

DATE READ: July 18-19, 2015

SYNOPSIS: *from Goodreads*

All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds of a victory are grim. Kronos’s army is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, the evil Titan’s power only grows.

While the Olympians struggle to contain the rampaging monster Typhon, Kronos begins his advance on New York City, where Mount Olympus stands virtually unguarded. Now it’s up to Percy Jackson and an army of young demigods to stop the Lord of Time.

In this momentous final book in the New York Times best-selling series, the long-awaited prophecy surrounding Percy’s sixteenth birthday unfolds. And as the battle for Western civilization rages on the streets of Manhattan, Percy faces a terrifying suspicion that he may be fighting against his own fate.

REXY’S RATING: 4 stars

REXY’S THOUGHTS:
THIS IS A REREAD

A half-blood of the eldest gods
Shall reach sixteen against all odds
And see the world in endless sleep,
The hero’s soul, cursed blade shall reap
A single choice shall end his days
Olympus to preserve or raze

The Last Olympian is a tragic story. It has a happy ending for our main heroes but like in all wars, there are casualties. Sometimes they’re bad guys; but more times than we can count, it’s the good guys…. so…yes, I call it tragic.

From the beginning, you’ll see I’m correct. It starts with the sacrifice and death of a demigod. I won’t reveal who to avoid spoiling anyone but let me tell you that I felt as if this death was a warning- This is war. Heroes you met from the first 4 books can and will die. True enough, this warning was correct- The three other major deaths in the final chapters confirm it. The one closely related to the first death is the one I was particularly heartbroken about though. 😦

The great prophecy itself is a tragic part of the story too. If you’ve finished reading The Last Olympian, you’ll understand the real meaning of the prophecy..and I bet you were sad too when that “single choice that ends his days” scene happened. The real meaning of the prophecy was a clever trick, one only Uncle Rick can create.

Another thing I’ll add on the side of “tragic” is the Last Olympian- Hestia herself. Even before I started the Percy Jackson series, I have been reading Greek mythology books and Hestia is my favorite goddess. I think it’s sad that she’s almost always forgotten and taken for granted 😦 It’s a good thing she was given the limelight in The Last Olympian (and yay, it was even named after her, haha!)

The constant little battles are also little tragic parts because our heroes keep on losing little by little. The battles are exciting parts, most especially the final battle.

Now that I’ve finished babbling about tragic things, lemme proceed to the sunnier side. In here, number one for me are there are the words “Annabeth, Percy, and puppy love intensifies” 😂 I love Percabeth and seeing them all grown up and coming to terms with their “is s/he really just a friend?” stage is just adorbs. Dear gods, I hope they have their happy ending after this (I’ve read The Heroes of Olympus series since then so I know for a fact that this hope is a lost cause at this point 😓😂) On the other hand, since the Percabeth ship is number one for me, it’s also the reason why I only gave 4 stars. Being a girly girl, I wish there was a more romantic ending for them in the way of dialog. I get that they’re both not romantic but I can’t erase the feeling that I wanted more lines that would have made the ending a trifle bit sweeter.

Anyway, still on the sunny side, I love how everyone we met in the previous books all pitched in and helped in the battle. Along with all demigods from Camp Half-blood, there’s Thalia and the hunters, there’s Nico, there’s Chiron and the party ponies, there’s Grover and the satyrs, there’s Tyson and Briares… there’s even Daedalus, in the form of the mechanical statues, haha. Aside from that, although Silena, Ethan and Luke made mistakes, they realized them afterwards and joined the cause before all was lost. The Last Olympian showed unity at it’s best!

All in all, 4/5 stars. This PJO rereading experience is awesome 💖. So glad I did this!

10884440_942682549076202_753559813_n

REXY’S METERS:

  • My Happiness Meter– FaceQ1414951447391

Lol @ Annabeth in the scene where Luke dies. I mean, c’mon girl, he’s DYING and you’re telling him “You were like a brother to me, Luke, but I didn’t love you.” HAHAHAHA that’s like FRIENDZONE LEVEL: dying.

Percy’s request for all demigods to be acknowledged and accepted is also a choice I applaud. That was an intelligent decision, seaweed brain. Haha. 💖

  • My Annoyance MeterFaceQ1414951495572

Dearest Rachel Elizabeth Dare, You are such a confident, “I’m gonna make the first move” type of girl. Normally I like girls like that but since I ship Percabeth, I want to thank you for finding and fulfilling your true destiny. Thank the gods it’s not with Percy but with Delphi. 😂

PicMonkey Collage

2 thoughts on “The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

  1. i am enjoyin readin your reviews… yeah. the last book is sad and tragic that made us want more on Percy and the demigods… its good there are other books about Percy and the team! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

