Lali of the Lill by Adi Mandal

lali

TITLE: Lali of the Lill

AUTHOR: Adi Mandal

PUBLISHER: –unknown as of this moment–

NO. OF PAGES: 152

GENRE: YA Fantasy, YA Romance

DATE READ: September 2015

SYNOPSIS: *from Goodreads*

Lali must face her fears and begin the journey to The Lill, a treacherous journey built around lies. In seeking for the truth about her past and future, she must leave Krei, the young man who loves her more than his life, and learn to trust Theon, a stranger who claims he is the only one who can help her.

REXY’S RATING: 3 stars

REXY’S THOUGHTS:

Lali of the Lill!!

First off, the cover. I love it! I think it’s fab and pretty. I commend the author and the publisher and basically everyone who had a hand in picking it out smile emoticon I think it’s the kind of cover that will make people want to buy the book. Hehe.

Next, the intro. The book has a interesting start. It’s cleverly vague enough to make you want to read on.

What I do like in the narration is the little bits of attention given to little details- descriptions of Stella and Lali’s meals, clothes, etc.

Lali is introduced as a waitress in a pizzashop with quirky coworkers.
Theon is introduced as an enigmatic hot guy. He’s described to saves Lali’s life in what she mysteriously calls as “attacks”.
On the other hand, Krei is the weird fiancee to a 16 year old Lali (How did that happen?) who washes his girlfriend’s laundry and cleans her room. Like I said, interesting. Hehe.
Aside from these tidbits, the highlights of the simple and humble life is also shown and introduced in the character of Lali’s loving Filipina stepmother, Stella.

Third on the list is the development of the plot. All I can say is that, from beginning to end, I was full of questions. Where is Lali from? Is the fight all in her head? Who’s chasing her?
Who sent the ones chasing her?
More importantly, why is she being chased?

Sadly one of the reasons why I took one star off is because these questions were not answered by the end of the novel. frown emoticon I guess they will be in the sequel but personally, I would have preferred getting some answers now rather than later.

Another reason why this book didn’t get my 5 star rating is because because I found the narration just a little bit too unrealistic.
Case in point, (1) Lali never doubting Theon her coworker is also Theon the axe-giver (2) A 60 year old stepmom convinced her 16 year old stepdaughter’s only way to a great life is marriage at 18
(3) Theon embodiying Katy Perry’s “you’re hot then you’re cold, you’re yes then you’re no,” lyrics. (4) The fight between Lali and the talking beast…

All these things didn’t seem very realistic to me. I know it’s in the fantasy genre and all, but some things, for example in #4–the beast’s reactions coupled with Lali’s distraction and sudden bouts of strength–are a bit of a stretch, even in the fantasy genre.

Errr.. I guess I should also mention that the name of Lali’s love interest, Theon, was a bit hard for me to grow on. I recently binge-watched all Game of Thrones episodes and the “Theon” character there is quite hard to forget, nevermind hard to put out of one’s mind when one is reading his name all the time, haha.

REXY’S METERS:

  • My Happiness Meter– FaceQ1414951577207 I like the Ama term, filipino word for father.
  • My Annoyance Meter– FaceQ1414951522745 I dislike Lalli’s decision-making skills.

PicMonkey Collage

Leave a Reply

